squarenomad.blogg.se

Rogue one soundtrack cd
Rogue one soundtrack cd













  1. #Rogue one soundtrack cd how to#
  2. #Rogue one soundtrack cd plus#

Still, for me, his action music - snoozefest time And yeah, your mileage may vary, just as some folks eat up Elfman's fantasy related scores, while they allllll sound exactly the same to me. And I won't do the Sith thing and speak in absolutes, it's just my take on his music ! I guess Jon didn't notice my wink in the original post, yeah, Desplat is not to my taste for the most part, but my wink indicated a lighthearted ( but heartfelt ) jab. Now, Largo Winch, that is an enjoyable score. Most of it, to me, is awful, boring and forgettable. Okay, that's me he was responding to, and I stand by my opinion of Desplat's action music. I mostly dislike Giacchino, but he's been at his best when - once in a very occasional while - he takes on a rare film project that DOESN'T require him to deal with some preexisting themes or an established musical style. BUT that said, I would always, always, always rather spend time with an interesting failure than with something that plays it safe and is just kinda "okay." I don't think he was right for HARRY POTTER (although several cues in DEATHLY HALLOWS 1 were delightful) and I don't believe he would have been a great fit for STAR WARS either.

#Rogue one soundtrack cd plus#

I don't especially like Desplat either, but one big plus for him is that he's generally an interesting composer who has a voice. NID DE GUEPES, INNOCENT LIES, HOSTAGE, FIREWALL, LARGO WINCH, THE GOLDEN COMPASS, RISE OF THE GUARDIANS, two HARRY POTTER films, parts of THE GHOST WRITER, and freakin' GODZILLA show that Desplat composes some of the most interesting action music from any composer working today.

#Rogue one soundtrack cd how to#

I am sure this will bring nothing but bewilderment from many since they have not heard any of it except a couple of the big overblown American productions:īut to say Desplat knows how to write interesting action music, um, well, that's kinda. I think I will bring back Jon Broxton's eloquent response about Desplat's action music from the other thread. I see you have great perspective comparing a score at the end of the Harry Potter cycle, when it got it's darkest and looked the least like the tale it started from, to a score at the beginning of Giacchino's career (when he was on his own) and his most inspired.

rogue one soundtrack cd

Giacchino returning to Medal Of Honor style is what we needĮxactly! Finally a voice of some reason. How people could get excited over him doing Star Wars after his deadly dull Harry Potter crap is beyond me.

rogue one soundtrack cd

Stunning.Ĭan't stand Desplat and his endless strings that go in circles forever. I think it has a bit of a Star Wars vibe to it and it's all brass.samples. Not that this is too relevant but check out what this guy wrote for a trailer for Orchestral Tools' upcoming brass library. The music was largely to thank- just the standard overblown trailer fodder dialled up to "11" on the proverbial amp. Truth be told, I was among the few who wasn't blown away by the last Rogue One trailer. And some are concerned that this is symptomatic of larger issues with the production. Some are dismayed by the switch, some are delighted. It's of course a soundtrack fan's urge to speculate as we all have in light of the news. Disney's ideas about invention, radically successful when it comes to musical animation spectacles and girl musicals in general, aren't translating well to Star Wars. I'm sure Desplat put too much invention into his ideas for Disney's taste.

rogue one soundtrack cd

Kev McGann: So.the first Star Wars music switch.īelieve me Kev, Disney is more interested in whether the Chinese box-office buys into this than what the music sounds like, hence bringing in Giacchino to give us a normalized sci-fi/action score. One just wonders how much freedom he will have to maneuver. Some truly magnificent film scores have come from re-scores and last minute replacements.Īnd Giacchino has a decent amount of time to work on this project. I agree with what you're saying Sampo in regard to the classic 11th hour scores that have been delivered down the years. You're correct, though, that the cookie-cutter vision that is being used to design Rogue One is not very heartening. Horner's Troy is not bad either.Īn 11th hour stand-in is not always a strike-out. Maybe it's better than what Shore would have done (I've not listened to it yet, that's just based on other comments). We hoped Disney might bring us different tastes of the world for SW, but we may end up dining on McDonalds and KFC meals.ĭaniel Hart was not supposed to score Pete's Dragon, but I've heard raves about the score. General Discussion: ROGUE ONE - A STAR WARS STORY (Michael Giacchino) FSM Board: ROGUE ONE - A STAR WARS STORY (Michael Giacchino)















Rogue one soundtrack cd